WOI | Research Innovation and Leadership

WOI | Research Innovation and Leadership

Each year, one women who has developed new knowledge or products, or improvements to products in a corporate or academic setting, is honored with the Research Innovation and Leadership Award. She must exhibit an original approach to her research as well as achieve peer recognition in the technology, science or engineering disciplines. The Research Innovation and Leadership recipient is a woman who has exhibited leadership ability by leading research teams, motivating staff and securing funding or resources to enable her research program.


A look back at past award winners:Woi - Research Innovation and Leadership

2005 – Martha J. Grossel, Assistant Professor of Biology, Connecticut College

2006 – Nancy Hutson, Senior Vice President, Pfizer Inc.

2007 – Dr. Nita Maihle, Professor, Yale University School of Medicine

2008 – Diane Jorkasky, Vice President of Global Clinical Research Operations, Pfizer Inc.

2009 – Mingjun Huang, Senior Director of Virology, Achillion Pharmaceuticals

2010 – Baikun Li, Assistant Professor, UConn Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

2011 – Lisa Pfefferle, Professor of Engineering, Yale University

2012 – Amy Anderson, Associate Professor, UConn Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

2013 – Yvonne Will, Associate Research Fellow, Pfizer Inc.

2014 – Robin Chazdon, Professor, University of Connecticut

2015 – Serap Aksoy, Professor, Yale School of Public Health & Radenka Maric, Connecticut Clean Energy Professor in Sustainable Energy, University of Connecticut

2016 – Annabelle Rodriguez-Oquendo, Linda and David Roth Chair of Cardiovascular Research, University of Connecticut Health Center





Return to Women of Innovation®

Award winners in other categories:
Collegian Innovation and Leadership | Community Innovation and Leadership | Youth Innovation and Leadership
Academic Innovation and LeadershipEntrepreneurial Innovation and Leadership
Small Business Innovation and Leadership | Large Business Innovation and Leadership

Member Portal Login

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Are you a CTC Member?